Tags

, , ,

  • Author: Khaled Hosseini
  • How I got it: Library.
  • My Rating: 2.5/5 stars.

This is a story involving friendship, betrayal, redemption, and tired plot-lines.

I really wanted to like this book. (I couldn’t.)

It felt too contrived. (Coincidence, coincidence, I think not.)

The plot was absurdly predictable. (Look at the bully now!)

The descriptive passages were head-ache inducing in their obsessive attention to detail. (Not unlike a 3-D movie.)

The tragedies, though shocking, felt manipulative in their fiction. The sadness permeating this book was like the smell of coffee in a closed room: dark and somewhat stale.

Plus, I didn’t learn anything new about Afghanistan.

I should have just watched the movie instead.

A/N: This isn’t my usual type of post. But, for a bestseller, The Kite Runner was really disappointing for me. I had to brutally limit my review to a 100 word drabble, lest my verbose ranting mutate the entire nature of my fluffy blogposting attitude into a rabid, vitriolic mess. Please don’t read this book.