Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Qui-Gon Jinn:…Obi-Wan, you’re sure there isn’t anything of value left on board?
Obi-Wan Kenobi: A few containers of supplies, the Queen’s wardrobe, maybe.

―excerpt from Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace

[Photos courtesy of Vogue. And Google Images.]

Although Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace came out almost 12 years ago, I don’t think I’ll ever cease to be amazed by the costumes. Natalie Portman as science-fantasy-fiction royalty with gorgeous costume changes in nearly every scene? That’s some prime re-watching value there. I’ve been even more smitten since re-discovering photos of said costumes featured in a Vogue US May 1999 issue. Shot by Irving Penn in all their lavish glory, the regal gowns glow with an otherworldly elegance. Designed by Trisha Biggar, each costume cost more than $60,000 each. Something “of value” indeed, Obi-Wan.

Anywho, just trying to justify my geekiness here: I made Polyvores of ’em. Yes. I. Did. Just being weirdly out-of-sync with the rest-of-the-world’s-time-line, making irrelevant sartorial tributes to yesterday’s geekdom in my own little corner of the bloggy universe ^_^ Or you can think of it as making yesterday’s geekdom relevant to the rest-of-the-world via totally-in-sync sartorial tributes. Whatever rocks your boat.

Enjoy! <3

Queen Amidala's famous red dress was inspired by the imperial robes worn by the wife of Genghis Khan, the Grand Empress Börte. Go figure.

Keira Knightley (who played the Queen's decoy, Sabé) was the one who got to wear this dress for the film. But Natalie Portman wore it for the promotional shots. Just sayin'.

Considering the beautiful Italianate scenery of her home planet, I kinda wonder where did all the royal wardrobe's Eastern influences come from. White kimonos would look quite out of place in Naboo. Plus, do those beads look like white dreadlocks to you?

A 100% Alexander McQueen ensemble. My brother dubs this the "nude peacock look".

♥ Edit: I’ve made a sequel! Clicky here for Natalie Portman in Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones ♥

